fbpx

Sony’s State of Play Returns This Week Focused on PS4 & PlayStation VR

PlayStation 5 might be one of the hotly anticipated pieces of tech for 2020 but Sony Interactive Entertainment (SIE) hasn’t forgotten about the current generation. This Thursday will see the State of Play broadcast return, mainly focused on PS4 and PlayStation VR.

PlayStation VR Group shot

The 40+ minute show will centre around third-party-published videogames for the console and headset so it should feature content for the holiday season.

SIE also wanted to be open with the fact that: “there will be no PlayStation Studios updates in Thursday’s episode. There won’t be any updates around hardware, business, preorders, or dates either. On Thursday, our focus is squarely on showcasing some cool upcoming games coming to the broader PlayStation ecosystem.” So there you have it.

The broadcast won’t be entirely PlayStation 5 free as there will be updates on some of the third-party and indie titles which were shown in June’s showcase. You can watch the next State of Play live on Twitch and YouTube on 6th August at 1:00pm PT/4:00pm ET/9:00pm BST.

PlayStation VR third anniversary

Today also saw SIE detail which current peripherals would work on PlayStation 5, with DualShock 4, PlayStation Move, Aim and the Camera (via an adaptor) all supporting the next console.

July saw PlayStation VR bombarded with new videogame releases such as Iron Man VR, Dance Collider, Crisis VRigade 2, Dreams, Pistol Whip and Headmaster: Extra Time Edition. The headset is still popular with fans and developers alike even though it hasn’t been updated since 2016, lagging behind modern rivals when it comes to features.

For all the details from the State of Play broadcast, keep an eye out for VRFocus’ coverage.