fbpx

PlayStation’s Fourth State of Play Broadcast Scheduled for Next Week

Sony Interactive Entertainment (SIE) began its State of Play broadcast series back in March, with some editions lasting for 20 minutes while the shortest was only 10. Today, the fourth State of Play episode has been announced for next week and it looks to be another filled with content.

PlayStation VR third anniversary

As per usual little has been revealed regarding the actual content, merely that the 20-minute episode will be filled with: “new game reveals, release date announcements, new gameplay footage, PlayStation Worldwide Studios updates, and more.”

There’s no mention of whether PlayStation VR will feature in some way but the virtual reality (VR) headset generally tends to. If you’re looking for further news regarding PlayStation 5 then you’re going to be disappointed: “Don’t expect any updates related to our next-gen plans in this episode,” notes the PlayStation Blog. That news will most likely come during the Electronic Entertainment Expo (E3) 2020, which SIE is rumoured to be attending after its notable absence during 2019.

SIE’s State of Play broadcast will take place on Tuesday, 10th December at 2pm GMT / 3pm CET / 6am PT / 9am ET, live on TwitchYouTube and Facebook.

PlayStation VR

It’s been an interesting year for PlayStation VR and the VR industry as a whole. While SIE has continued supporting the console-based headset in addition to confirming PlayStation 5 will be compatible with the head-mounted display (HMD), rivals have all brought out new devices. The push has seen improved graphical fidelity or a move into wireless standalone freedom.

SIE doesn’t seem concerned with these advancements, pushing sales through via Black Friday deals which saw several PlayStation VR titles enter the UK games charts. That doesn’t mean to say the company is resting on its laurels, with several patents coming to light which indicates inside-out tracking possibilities as well as VR teleconferencing plans for future PlayStation VR headsets.

Either way, the State of Play episode will be all about the videogames. If any VR titles do appear then VRFocus will let you know.