fbpx

PlayStation’s State of Play Returns 24th September

It's going to be a big one.

Ever since Sony Interactive Entertainment (SIE) began cancelling most of its normal appearances at events like the Electronic Entertainment Expo (E3) 2019 as well as no longer holding PlayStation Experience the American side of the company has switched to its State of Play broadcast. Today, SIE has announced its next State of Play with a bumper edition coming next week.

PlayStation VR

Over on PlayStation Blog SIE has confirmed that the State of Play will be held on Tuesday 24th September, and last for a decent 20 minutes – the last one was rather short clocking in at under 10. As for times, it’ll be at 9pm BST / 10pm CEST / 1pm PT and 4pm ET.

Supposedly it’ll be ‘sporting a fresh new look’ and ‘have some great news to share with you, including new game reveals, new content from PlayStation’s Worldwide Studios, and a host of other updates.’ No mention of PlayStation VR so hopefully that’ll be a nice surprise. The first State of Play in March featured the headset quite heavily with Iron Man VR making an appearance. The second in May was completely bereft of virtual reality (VR) content so SIE needs to make amends.

It’s also worth pointing out that there will be no news regarding PlayStation 5: “Don’t expect any updates related to our next-gen plans in this episode,” states the blog. The next episode could be a different matter if a 2020 release is to be believed.

PlayStation VR

While SIEA isn’t making much of an appearance anywhere, that’s not the case for the rest of the world. Gamescom 2019 in Germany last month was a good indicator of that with the PlayStation stand front and centre, dominating one of the halls as it always does. There was a dedicated PlayStation VR section demoing both Iron Man VR and Groundhog Day: Like Father Like Son. Further afield, Japanese developer Amata K.K. confirmed that SIEJA was at the Tokyo Game Show (TGS) 2019 showcasing its upcoming escape room title Last Labyrinth

At the moment the PlayStation VR lineup of winter titles is a little sparse, with Concrete Genie the only one with an official date in October. If any VR announcements are made VRFocus will let you know.

You might also like More from author

Comments