PlayStation’s State of Play Broadcast Returns on 9th May

How much VR content will it include this time?

Back in March Sony Interactive Entertainment (SIE) held its first State of Play broadcast, a new way for it to announce or reveal new information about the latest software for PlayStation 4 and PlayStation VR. That first episode was almost entirely dominated by virtual reality (VR) titles of one sort or another. Today, SIE has announced that the second episode will be taking place later this week.

PlayStation VR

Just like before, SIE isn’t going to give too much away prior to the broadcast, simply stating on PlayStation Blog: “PlayStation Worldwide Studios will be showing off an extended look at the upcoming MediEvil remake, as well as a first look at a new title. And we’ll have other updates and announcements from upcoming PS4 games.”

Don’t expect loads of videogames to appear this time either. The first episode clocked in a just under 20 minutes with episode two expected to be around half that time. Which more than likely means PlayStation VR content isn’t going to be as rife as it was before.

Hopefully, there might be some updates on the titles that appeared previously, such as Five Nights at Freddy’s VR: Help Wanted which was given a Spring 2019 launch date. The VR title isn’t a port of the original videogames, merely based on them, with Steel Wool Studios including all new content as well. And of course, there’s always the little matter of Iron Man VR. Slated for 2019, the title opened the first episode with a bang, with fans eager to hear more about the superhero experience.

Five Nights at Freddy's VR

State of Play: Episode 2 will take place on 9th May, at 11.00pm BST/midnight CEST and 3:00pm PST/6:00pm ET, with viewers able to watch live on TwitchYouTubeTwitter, and Facebook just like before. SIE has also confirmed there will be an episode 3 later this year, it just hasn’t said when.

April saw a nice selection of videogames arrive including Concrete Genie, Falcon Age and Jupiter & Mars. That month also saw Lead system architect for PlayStation Mark Cerny confirm that PlayStation VR would support the next generation PlayStation console.

VRFocus will continue its coverage of SIE and PlayStation VR, reporting back with the latest announcements.

You might also like More from author

Comments