fbpx

Head of BBC Cognitive Design Joins Panel On Empathy and VR

Steve Bambury of VirtualiTeach has welcomes Sean Gilroy, Head of Cognitive Design at the BBC to a panel discussion for CPD in VR which will be discussing the topic of empathy in virtual reality (VR).

Titles VR for Impact and Empathy, the panel will also feature David Romero, a technical specialist for HTC Vive and Dominic Eskofier, head of virtual reality for Nvidia. The panel will be hosted by Bambury and will focus on what it takes to create empathetic experiences in VR.

The event will take place inside Engage from Immersive VR Education and will be made available to educators across the globe. The Engage app, which is available for free on Steam for HTC Vive, Oculus Rift and OSVR.

Engage is a social learning platform that allows up to 30 users into a single private area to experience content such as the panel discussion from VirtualiTeach, or take students on a virtual field trip to distant locales, historical sites, or even other planets. The Engage app is compatible with OneDrive and Dropbox, so users can share files and media from within the VR environment.

Engage is still in Early Access, but its ultimate aim to to make education more interesting and intuitive.

The VR for Impact and Empathy discussion will be broadcast on the Engage app on 15th September, 5pm UK time/ 12pm EST/8pm UAE Time. The events have limited spaces, and users will need to register at the VirtualiTeach website to claim a spot.

For a primer on Empathy in VR, check out this VRFocus guest article on the topic.

VRFocus will bring you further information on VR events as they becomes available.