British Arrows CRAFT 2016 Awards Adds 8 New Categories Including VR/360

Since the British Arrows CRAFT Awards began in 1996 it has championed the innovation and artistry of those who craft moving images in advertising. For its 20th year the awards has announced a new chair and jury alongside eight new categories, one of which includes virtual reality (VR).

Because of the ever changing technological landscape the organisers have re-crafted the Categories & Definitions to now include Writing; VR / 360; Animation: Character / Photoreal / Experimental; Motion Graphics; Re-Record; Student Commercial.

Visual effects and content creation studio The Mill has opened up its VR room to the CRAFT jury, giving all the judges the opportunity to immerse themselves on all platforms for all VR entries.

The announcement was made alongside a call for entry for British Arrows CRAFT 2016, accepting awards submissions until Friday 23rd September at 17:30 with a late entry extension to Friday 30th September at 18:00. For details visit www.britisharrows.com

British Arrows has named Sally Campbell, Founding Partner of Somesuch, as the Chair of this year’s jury. Charlie Crompton, Chairman of the Board, comments “This is a year for change… Sally has an extraordinary reputation for creative excellence and continues to show a true appreciation of how craft is at the forefront of British advertising and has used her considerable talent to curate one of the most diverse and relevant juries we’ve ever seen.”

chair_of_the_jury_British Arrows craft16_sally_campbell

The British Arrows CRAFT jury for 2016 consists of:


Anthony Moore Founding Partner & Creative Director, Factory

Ben Swift Senior Employment Coach, Growth Planning & Housing, Westminster City Council

Chris Watling Head of Production, Droga5

Danielle Bennison-Brown Group Director of Video Content, Condé Nast

Hannah Edwards Costume Designer and Maker, Lux Artists

Iain Tait ECD, Wieden+Kennedy

James Allen VFX Supervisor / Founder, Time Based Arts

James Bamford Colourist, The Mill

Jay James MD / Music Supervisor, Soundtree

Joe Bagnall Head of Film, Lucky Generals

Joe Guest Editor, Final Cut

Josh Varney Founder / Agent, 42 Management

Juliette Larthe Co-Founder UK / Executive Producer, PRETTYBIRD

Leanne Flinn Casting Director, Leanne Flinn Casting

Lou Hake Producer, Blink

Lu Hinton Make-up and Hair Designer, Freelance

Matt Lambert Director, PRETTYBIRD

Nick Nash Music Supervisor / Partner, Tin Drum Music

Pilar Peace Art Director, Mother

Sam Brown Director, Rogue

Sam Tidman Production Designer, Vision @ Wizzo

Sara Dunlop Director, Rattling Stick

Selma Ahmed Creative, CP+B

Sharon Lock Creative Director + Head of Design, Framestore

Simon Gosling Creative Evangelist / CEO, Happy Finish

Tash Tan Supervising Producer, i-D

Timothy McCourt Director / Animator, The Line

Toby Allen Creative Director, AMVBBDO

Tom Townend, DoP, Lux Artists

Judging will then take place on Thursday 13th and Friday 14th October 2016 with the shortlist announced on the week commencing 17th October 2016. VRFocus will be following the VR announcements, reporting back accordingly.