fbpx

VR Short Film Mr.Robot to be Broadcast on Within App For One Day Only

Tomorrow the San Diego Comic-Con will open for its annual event and as part of it, Within – formerly Vrse.works – will be premiering a never-before-seen short film based on the Mr.Robot TV series.

Within will be hosting a global simulcast of the virtual reality (VR) experience which is a flashback to the main character’s Elliot’s past. But to make the showcase even more special, it’ll only be shown the once before disappearing from the app.

Mr.Robot VR experience

The Mr.Robot VR film will unlock at 10:45am PT / 1:45pm ET / 6:45pm GMT on Thursday, 21st July, 2016. It’ll then play simulaneously around the world for fans of the show, with only one chance to watch it.

If you’re interested and haven’t already downloaded the Within app, it’s available on iOS and Android devices for use with head-mounted displays (HMDs) such as Google Cardboard, Merge VR and Zeiss VR One. There’s also a version for Samsung’s Gear VR, Oculus Rift and HTC Vive.

This years San Diego Comic-Con looks like it could be featuring the biggest VR line-up yet. Making a return from last year is popular US talk show host Conan O’Brien, who’ll bring back Conan360, where his show is filmed in front of 360-degree cameras. There will also be exclusive VR Suicide Squad content being unveiled on Gear VR. a Rick and Morty experience on HTC Vive, and comic book writer Daniel Corey will be on a panel discussing the future of comics which will include his in-progress Moriarty: Endgame VR comic book.

As new announcements are made on further VR content being showcased at the San Diego Comic-Con, VRFocus will bring you the latest updates.