fbpx

Get Your Groove On in AltspaceVR’s Dance Competition

Got better moves than Patrick Swayze in Dirty Dancing, can you out spin Natalie Portman in Black Swan or just think you’re better than most of the actors in the vast roster of dance movies, well now you can have a go at proving it next month in virtual reality (VR). Social app AltspaceVR is joining forces with Leap Motion to host what is probably the first dance competition in VR.

Beginning on Friday, August 12th 2016 from 3:00am – 4:00 am BST (7pm-8pm PDT), the companies will be holding a two round dance off, with four judges, each with 4 golden tickets.

leapmotion_header

The first round begins on the 12th, where the judges will room the rooms to pick sixteen entrants to go through to the second event. Round 2 will take place on18th August at 3:00am BST (7:00pm PDT). And if you don’t want to enter you still be able to come watch the 16 finalists dwindle to 1 lucky winner.

Everyone is invited but contestants will need to use a Leap Motion Controller to qualify for Round 2 and to be an official contestant.

Leap Motion is running a sale on its store, with the Leap Motion Controller reduced from €89.99 EUR/ $79.99 USD down to €69.99/$69.99 USD, and the Universal VR Dev Bundle has been dropped from €96.99/$89.99 down to €74.99/$74.99. The Universal Dev Mount on its own is still the regular price of €19.99/$19.99.

For those interested you’ll also need to register free of charge here. VRFocus will continue its coverage of AltspaceVR, reporting back with any further announcements.