fbpx

Oculus Rift Pre-Order Launch Date Revealed

Oculus VR has been teasing the launch of pre-orders for the Oculus Rift virtual reality (VR) head-mounted display (HMD) for some time now, with the window before the launch in Q1 2016 quickly running out. Fans no longer have to speculate about just when the chance to lay down an early order will arrive, however, as Oculus VR has today announced the date for the Oculus Rift pre-order scheme.

countdown-web2

Oculus Rift pre-orders open on 6th January 2016, the very same day that the 2016 Consumer Electronics Show (CES) gets underway in Las Vegas, Nevada. The company will be at the show, so expect to hear plenty more about the plans for this launch in the coming days. As revealed on the Oculus Blog , pre-orders will go live at 08:00 PST. That’s 11:00 ET/16:00 GMT. Either way, fans are sure to be refreshing the official website all day long.

Once pre-orders do go live we’ll also know the full price of the Oculus Rift, though it’s not clear if a final release date will be revealed too.

Don’t forget that those that pre-order the Oculus Rift will be getting a free copy of CCP Games’ anticipated online multiplayer space combat title, EVE: Valkyrie, while everyone that buys the kit will also get Playful’s colourful platformer, Lucky’s Tale. On top of all of that, an Xbox One controller will come bundled with every unit, which players can expect to use up until the launch of the Oculus Touch position tracked controllers when they launch in the second half of this year.

Expect plenty more major VR news from Oculus VR, HTC and other VR companies this week as CES finally gets underway. VRFocus will be bringing you each and every update as they happen.