fbpx

ARK Dev Hosting Live Q&A Today, Teases New Dinosaur

It’s been a busy week for Studio Wildcard, the developer behind virtual reality (VR) compatible first-person shooter (FPS), ARK: Survival Evolved. Just a few days ago the developer launched a Steam Early Access version of its anticipated title with support for the Oculus Rift head-mounted display (HMD). It’s the team’s aim to keep refining this experience ahead of a full launch later down the line. Today, Studio Wildcard is offering fans the chance to come and learn about some of those refinements.

The developer will be hosting a live Q&A session on its official Twitch page today at 14:00 EST/11:00 PST/18:00 GMT. The team’s Jesse Rapczack and Community Manager Jat will be on hand to discuss how the Early Access launch performed. The pair will also talk about the team’s current plans for development and what players can expect to see from them in the near future.

At the same time, Studio Wildcard has released a new image teasing the inclusion of a new dinosaur in ARK: Survival Evolved. The image, which can be seen below, is simply a silhouette of an underwater beast. It could be that the developer provides more information on it during the livestream.

ARK: Survival Evolved is planned for a full release on PC, PlayStation 4 and Xbox One in early 2016. The PlayStation 4 version of the title will also be supported the Project Morpheus HMD. The videogame is being developed using Epic Games’ Unreal Engine 4 and mixes elements of survival with combat for online competition and co-op play. Players will essentially start with nothing and must hunt, harvest, craft and more in order to acquire better items and more powerful weapons. Over 60 different dinosaurs feature, which players can even tame and ride.

VRFocus will continue to follow ARK: Survival Evolved closely, reporting back with any further updates on the title’s progress.

ARKDinosaur