fbpx

Oculus and Morpheus Creators to Appear on Same NeuroGaming Panel

The creators of the Oculus Rift and Project Morpheus virtual reality (VR) headsets are both set to appear on an industry panel discussing VR technology later today. Oculus VR’s Palmer Luckey and Sony Computer Entertainment’s (SCE) Dr. Richard Marks will be speaking on the ‘Immersive Experience – Virtual Reality NeuroGaming’ at the NeuroGaming Conference in San Francisco, California.

PalmerLuckey_1

The panel is set to talk about where VR is headed and how other technologies such as motion control and haptics will integrate with it. It will mark the first occasion that representatives from Oculus VR and SCE have appears together to talk about their respective headsets. It will also be the first appearance from Marks, who helped create the Project Morpheus headset for PlayStation 4, since the device’s reveal at the Game Developers Conference 2014.

The panel starts at 14:00 PDT/18:00 EST/22:00 BST and will also feature Sixense President and CEO Amir Rubin, currently working on the STEM motion controller, as well as Neuroelectics CEO, Ana Maiques. It will be moderated by NextGen Interactions founder Jason Jerald.

The main conference at the event will also be livestreamed on the official website, starting at 10:00 PDT/13:00 EDT/18:00 BST and will kick off with an introduction and keynote from Xbox co-creator Ed Fries. The NeuroGaming Conference brings together a range of industry experts to focus on the convergence of mind and body in videogames. On top of VR it will involve talks on a range of technologies, including motion and gesture control, haptics, eye tracking, facial recognition and more.

In total 40 exhibitors and 50 speakers will attend the show, with 12 panels set up throughout. These panels will detail the best practices for development, show off a range of new products and ideas as well as help developers network together. VRFocus will continue to follow VR and bring you all the latest news.